Savory Perks

My local coffee shop lends itself to some cool photos. The coffee is great, and much cheaper than Starbucks, the people are friendly, and it’s usually fairly quiet, even when it’s busy (except when high school kids are on vacation). I wasn’t a coffee guy until last year when I started frequenting Starbucks. Then I started to get an appreciation for small businesses and local restaurants. Now, I rarely go to a chain restaurant unless I’m a guest of someone else, and I haven’t set foot in a Starbucks in months. This local coffee shop is probably the best I’ve been to and if you can’t tell by the photos, it’s basically a reclaimed old house. It reminds me of New England and it is very cozy compared to your run-of-the-mill chain coffee joint. I typically go about once a week, and only the second week I was there the girl at the counter remembered my drink. It has a nice outdoor area where I can smoke my pipe or a cigar without being bothered and catch some shade while reading a book. The first two photos were taken this evening, and the others were taken on previous visits, one which I find it proper to repost as part of this series.

Savory Perks
Weslaco, Texas
Nikon P7000

Savory Perks
Weslaco, Texas
Nikon P7000

Savory Perks
Weslaco, Texas
Nikon P7000

Savory Perks
Weslaco, Texas
Nikon P7000

And my favorite of all:

Savory Perks
Weslaco, Texas
Nikon P7000

One thought on “Savory Perks

  1. The second and third are my favorite, they have a lot of color and life in them that I really enjoy! I only go to Starbucks when I really need the coffee because there is one in my university, the old coffee place (Java City) always gave me a stomach ache (but they had great scones, so I mourn their closing). The only other time I go to Starbucks is when I am working as a freelance tutor, I’d rather meet a student there than in their or my own home. I’d love to find a small place to go on a regular basis, but sadly here in Hayward those are very few. The one tea place that I like is actually more expensive than Starbucks, so yeah, not an option sadly. (especially not on a college student’s budget.) Still, I’ll continue looking. I’d love to find a place I can just go and write.

Leave a Reply

