An Ideal Weekend

This weekend has been my first weekend off since mid-December. I’ve had a few weekdays off from school, including spring break, during which I did absolutely nothing for four days. However, I have a part-time job in which my actual department is “Weekend Team.” Unlike most of the people…ok, everyone else in my program, I do not live with or off of my parents, so besides the money I get from my GI Bill every month, I am entirely self-supported. Basically, I can’t afford to take time off work unless I get side jobs during the week in the evenings to make up for the money I’d lose. On top of that, thanks to seven years in the Army, I haven’t called in sick to work in ten years. I finally used some vacation time and holiday time to get this weekend off, but I didn’t realize since I’m part time, I only get paid for half days if I take paid time off. So, I’m taking a huge hit to the wallet by taking this weekend off, but I needed it. This post isn’t about my job or being 28 and living with parents, it’s about the ideal weekend. I have a lot of hobbies. Photography, music, playing with old cars, trucks, motorcycles, reading, mountain biking, home improvement, etc. Most people like to spend their weekends doing things related to their hobbies. I do too. However, I also like being lazy once in awhile, especially when I haven’t had time off in a couple months and haven’t had a weekend off in seven months. Weekends, after all, are mainly for resting after spending all week working 8-12 hours a day, or going to school every day. If I had every weekend off, which hopefully will be the case by the end of next month, I would be out in the garage working on a project, hitting the trails on my Specialized, going for a drive with the windows down and music blaring, or finding some run-down buildings to take photos of. However, call me lazy if you want, but after seven months of working every weekend, I just wanted to sit on my ass all weekend and not plan anything. These are some of the things on my Moleskine checklist (ok, I didn’t actually write this stuff in my planner, because I had been dreaming of it for so long I didn’t have to) for this weekend:

  • Cook breakfast, yes COOK breakfast, not in the microwave or cereal bowl, in underwear.
  • Sit on ugly couch and read for at least 4 hours at a time, in underwear.
  • Drink at least a 6-pack of beer, preferably summer beer.
  • Crank air conditioning to 65.
  • Do not leave house until bored. Then, drive to town and visit favorite used book store.
  • Draw some things.
  • Read the newspaper.

I also tried this new Shiner seasonal. I bought it blindly and didn’t realize it was a ginger beer. It took me by surprise when I took the first sip. It is pretty damn good though. Ginger and grapefruit apparently make for an ok beer.

This is my favorite kind of weekend. The kind where I have no plans, except to relax and get rid of the seemingly permanent bags under my eyes. The kind where you just go with the flow. When you get bored, you find something relaxing to do that you’ve been wanting to do for weeks or months, but simply haven’t had time or motivation. Call a friend you haven’t seen or talked to in awhile. If you live somewhere near your parents, go out and visit them for a day if you don’t do so most weekends (I wish I could do this, but my dad lives 2500 miles away). Take the time to enjoy the sun, or the rain. Just be you for a couple days. I know life is short and we should take advantage of every free minute of it, but once in awhile a person just needs to relax. Make sure you take some time out for your mind and body to calm down. It’s good for you, and you have a significant other, it’s good for your relationship.  The only thing that would make this weekend better is if I actually had someone to share it with.

 

Listening to: Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers – Moanin’

Leave a Reply

