A New Journey

Last week, I posted about my job search and the frustrating position I was in. Well, Thursday I got the call offering me the engine overhaul job I was talking about and was about to turn it down because of the financial aspect of it. After being offered the position, I asked about relocation assistance and the woman basically told me they’d be able to cover my move-in costs within a reasonable amount for an apartment. That changed everything and I willingly accepted the job.

So, today I am finishing packing my little house and picking up a U-Haul truck in the morning. Sometime tomorrow afternoon or evening I’ll be driving a mostly-empty truck, with a PT Cruiser in tow, about 375 miles to Killeen, Texas, where I will probably pass out in said truck until Thursday morning. Then I shall load up two 5×10 storage units full of stuff that I haven’t seen in nearly two years, and proceed to Waco, Texas, hopefully in time to view a few apartments, pick up a check from my new employer, and begin moving in. Friday I need to find a new bank, send out a change of address form, hopefully get my internet and cable hooked up, and take a drug test and physical, all while attempting to finish unloading things into my new apartment and storage unit. Saturday, it’s off to Ikea with one of my few leftover Army friends, Seth, to go on a massive shopping spree for some chairs, a desk, a bed frame, and other miscellaneous items. Sunday will be spent assembling said Ikea items and, hopefully (if I can get my cable hooked up on Friday), watching NFL opening games. Then, Monday, with everything hopefully settled in, I shall begin work/training with my new company.  All in all, it’s going to be a long week.

This is going to be an interesting experience. For one thing, it is the first time I have moved myself without help from the army. I am also doing everything myself with the exception of the Ikea trip (and that being only because I am leaving my pickup truck behind here for a few weeks). The biggest thing is this will be my first civilian, full-time, hopefully long-term, job. I worked several jobs from the time I was 13 until I joined the Army at 19, but I was living with my dad and was ultimately secure. I have been on my own for ten years now, but seven of those years were under the supervision of Uncle Sam, and the last two have been with help from the GI Bill. So now I am truly going out on my own, into a career field I am completely new to, in a city I have very little experience with and in which I know no one. I did find out that an army buddy of mine who I thought would have moved back to Tennessee by now in fact bought a house in a town about 45 minutes away from my new home, so I will have someone to barbeque with and watch football on Sundays.

At any rate, it’s going to be a busy week or two, so pardon my absence and wish me luck. This move will put me a little over an hour from Austin and Dallas, in opposite directions, so I will have many more options when it comes to photography and day-trip excursions and such. So, in addition to improving my life, this job should improve my blogging, too. Catch you guys on the flipside.

Leave a Reply

