Saturday Explorations, 2nd Edition (part 2)

A continuation of Saturday’s post, these photos were taken in downtown Waco, again focusing on the architecture. I seem to be becoming a bit obsessed with the old warehouses and commercial buildings all over town. Many of them are seemingly abandoned, some house businesses that have been around for decades, and some have been reclaimed as residential or commercial lofts.

Antiques For Sale

Upholstery, anyone?

Dr. Pepper Museum

Kirkpatrick & Witt Furniture, with Alico building

The Sleeper

Tune in next weekend for photos from my Austin day trip. There’s a big WWII-era hot rod show at Camp Mabry on Saturday, one that I’ve missed since it was moved to Texas, so I’ll be spending a good chunk of the day there, then heading downtown to visit a couple of my favorite music stores, and exploring a couple local used book stores as well. Most of the shots from the hot rod show will be shot with my AE-1 so it will probably take me a few days to get them processed and scanned, but I should have some digital shots from the trip to post on Sunday.

I’m also thinking of trying something new this week. Since my depression has somewhat declined and I don’t have much to complain about these days, I’ve only been posting once a week and mainly posting photos. Music being a big passion of mine, I’m thinking of dedicating a weekly post to music, probably to be posted mid-week. In these posts I will pick an artist or band each week and talk a little bit about their history, why I like them, and the feelings they bring out in me. Not necessarily reviews since I refuse to waste time and posts on artists I don’t like (thus, I’d be highly biased in my reviews of groups I like), but talking more about the personal connections. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

