A Day In the Life: An Android Photo Diary

In light of Monday’s events, let me start off by saying, Boston, I love you. I may have grown up 50 miles away, but most of my fondest childhood memories are of evening games at Fenway, Bruins games at the old Garden, and exploring the historical monuments scattered about the city on school trips and family outings. And sitting in traffic on 93 in my dad’s Saab. This being the case, I still consider Boston to be My City. Even from 1,800+ miles away, the news on Patriots’ Day hit home more than if it had happened 90 miles away in Dallas or Austin.  Part of this is because I saw this type of thing numerous times in Iraq, and seeing it happen at home just makes me feel for all those innocent civilians who witnessed it and were affected by it. I’m not a religious man, but my thoughts have been with Boston since Monday evening. I know you will pull through, you’re the toughest city in the country. Also, thank you to the folks in New York (even the Yankees), for displaying solidarity and support; seeing and hearing fans singing “Sweet Caroline” in Yankee Stadium literally brought tears to my eyes. 

Now that the sappy stuff is out of the way, I’ll get on to my topic. I saw this idea a few weeks ago, I think on the WP Daily Post page. Basically a day in my life, in photos. I was planning to use my Nikon for this, but frankly, I’m afraid I’d break the damn thing at work or when I inevitably bust my ass on the bike trails. So, all these photos were taken with my Motorola Droid Razr M with the native camera app. It’s surprisingly much better than my last Droid, actually better than the Vignette app in most cases, which was my preferred camera app previously.

IMG_20130415_064602_239

Starting the day.

My work: aircraft fuel pumps before disassembly

My work: aircraft fuel pumps before disassembly

And after disassembly. I'll go on to overhaul these, test them, and they'll be calibrated and returned to stock.

And after disassembly. I’ll go on to overhaul these, test them, and they’ll be calibrated and returned to stock.

After work exercise. I don't do gyms.

After-work exercise. I don’t do gyms.

Having an iced latte with a book while the sun goes down.

Having an iced latte with a book while the sun goes down.

Evening music time. BTW, these are GREAT headphones.

Evening music time. By the way, these are GREAT headphones.

Bedtime

Bedtime

 

Leave a Reply

